2013 Resolutions

by Paul Mathers

Resolutions are a good thing. It is good to seek to improve one’s self; the unexamined life is not worth living. Early today, Laurie and I had a long conversation about what we would like to achieve in the nascent year. I usually refrain from cross-posting personal journal stuff on this blog, but I felt that it might feel more real to go public with the fruits of that conversation. Here is my list of resolutions for 2013:

-Finish the Harvard Classics. I think I can do this before 2014. I think I only need 2 weeks per book and many of them end up taking significantly less time (while others take longer, but barring another Augustine, I should be fine).

-Write more poetry.

-Be softer, less judging, more compassionate. I realized how much the bullying I received in my childhood lead to me 1) tending towards reclusiveness, and 2) attempting to harden my heart. Neither of which is good or helpful. I feel like, at 35, my armor is my most major stumbling block.

-Imitate Christ and Socrates.

-Replace fear/anxiety/worry as my chief character traits with thankfulness/blessing/compassion. These two are prescriptive towards that 3rd resolution.

Audaces fortuna iuvat.

